A very special message from our president Christel

The thing with endings is that it makes you think of the beginnings. 

I remember my first Borough Belles meeting vividly. I had been stalking the website for some time before mustering up the courage to go to a meeting. The one I wanted to join was closed to members only and it was floral crown making.

To this day I regret missing out on that, however the first meeting I joined was to celebrate the 100 years of the WI. The committee members made a lovely presentation, dressed in different eras. They explained with much enthusiasm the history of how it all began, all the things WI members had fought for and accomplished. I was hooked. I remember feeling so excited and eager to go to the next meeting and be part of this community. 

Today feels a bit like being a captain who’s bringing the ship into her last port as we are heading to our last meeting. This ship has unfortunately run its course and hopefully we can give her a worthy send-off on Wednesday.

I hope you will reminisce of the journey we have been on, all the things we discovered, explored and learned together along the way. But most of all I hope the community and friendships we have built will continue on. 

To me the Belles have been like finding a home, a haven of kind-hearted, like-minded and strong women who have been nothing but inspirational. 

Thank you all for the journey and looking forward to seeing you on Wednesday and hopefully beyond.

Christel xxx